The Secret Garden

Mary Lennox, a spoilt, ill-tempered, and unhealthy child, comes to live with her reclusive uncle in Misselthwaite Manor after the death of her parents. There she meets a hearty housekeeper and her spirited brother, a dour gardener, a cheerful robin, and her willful, hysterical, and sickly cousin, Master Colin.
Expand text…

With the help of the robin, Mary finds the door to a secret garden, neglected and hidden for years. When she decides to restore the garden in secret, the story becomes a charming journey into the places of the heart where faith restores health, flowers refresh the spirit, and the magic of the garden coming to life anew brings to Colin health and to Mary happiness.

“It will rapt most children away, for after fifty years its spell is still as
strong; a blend of power, beauty, vivid interest and honest goodness. Yes, if
this is magic, it is good magic.” –New York Times Book Review

“For anyone who has ever felt afraid to live and love, The Secret Garden’s
portrayal of reawakening spirits will thrill and rejuvenate. Frances Hodgson
Burnett creates characters so strong and distinct, young readers continue to
identify with them even eighty-five years after they were conceived.”
– Review


For the rest of the book go to “Frances Hodgson Burnett – The Secret Garden” audiofolder.

The Secret Garden_Ch01

The Secret Garden_Ch02

The Secret Garden_Ch03

The Secret Garden_Ch04

The Secret Garden_Ch05

The Secret Garden_Ch06

The Secret Garden_Ch07

The Secret Garden_Ch08

The Secret Garden_Ch09